top of page

I'M BACK! | WHY I WASN'T POSTING... | A LITTLE MOTIVATION BOOST | LIFE UPDATE | DEC 2017

O HEY GURL! Typing this blog post already feels so weird because I haven't posted anything in over a month. Consistency is clearly not something I'm good at but I do have a couple of reasons for this...

The vast majority of bloggers I've come across seem to post at least once a week to keep up their views and keep their loyal readers happy but I just don't think I could post that often. Not because I'm too busy and don't have the time to commit to my blog, but because I find difficulty in thinking of relateable and helpful content that's actually worth both our times. I've recently read through a lot of blog websites and get so full of envy at some peoples imaginations and consistency when it comes to their posts. TEACH ME YOUR WAYS PLEASE.

In saying that, whenever I try to do the same and think of new content I end up overthinking the blog topics or I soon realise it's a pretty pointless post and that no one will actually care so won't click on to read. In the past I've read a couple of posts before thinking, "that's 5 minutes of my life I'll never get back" and that's honestly my ultimate fear, that any of you might think like that about my own posts!

Don't get me wrong a blog is there for the person who created it to write WHATEVER they like and shouldn't be criticised for it if they aren't doing wrong but I've got to be honest with myself and just try to think what people want to read. Everyone likes reading different things but I want this blog to be me and I don't want to try too hard to be different or to stand out because then what really is the point of all of this? I write what I'd enjoy reading and what niche group I want to aim for and I'm sure every other blogger is that same. Because I find it hard to think of useful posts sometimes, I tend to lose motivation. To me, there is no better feeling than clicking "publish post"and finally letting people read what you have to say this time around after working so hard on it. However, there is no worse feeling than being stuck for ideas and questioning your blogs future, asking yourself if there's any point in continuing because you "don't post half as often as other bloggers do". I mean don't get me wrong, the more you post the more recognition and opportunities you'll get but if you feel like you have to make half-hearted, irrelevant posts just to try and keep up with the other bloggers with the many ideas then its not worth it... trust me I've been there for over a year now. When I hit my blogs 1st year anniversary, a few people (to which some were bloggers themselves) asked me for advice and what I've learnt from blogging and I couldn't even answer it because I hadn't learnt anything but I'm able to answer it now... You've got to work at your own pace. If you're like me and struggle to think of post ideas to have at least once a week or if you have a busy life whether it's with work, kids or anything at all, you have to work with your own schedule. Don't stop your life or stress yourself out because you have to post on a Sunday and Wednesday night like every other blogger out there, you post when you can but most importantly WHEN YOU FEEL LIKE IT. If that means your dream career as a blogger takes a few years longer than anticipated then that's just how it goes but don't lose hope because you'll get more creative with practice and you might find it easier to think of good content the more you stick at it (I'm hoping that happens with me). As I don't post as much as I'd like to, I only have 144 blog subscribers and 1049 Instagram followers. Although that may seem like a lot to some of you, I thought I'd at least have 500 subscribers and maybe 2000 followers because I've been writing and posting outfit pics for over a year now. IT TAKES TIME. I'm not going to stress myself out anymore worrying about losing readers and followers and trying to write any random posts to be consistent because that's totally going against why I started blogging in the first place. If people like what I write and post then they'll subscribe and follow and it'll be the same for your content too... The main thing that gave me this sudden boost of motivation was being noticed by a company on Instagram. Like I've said before I don't have an amazing number of followers and just believe it to be average for someone my age so being asked to join a company's promo team was a big shock to the system. Saint London (click name in bold to be taken to website) is a watch company from London and they were the ones who contacted me through my Instagram DMs and told me I seem like the perfect person to represent their brand. Now I'm not sure if it's because they read my blog or if they just simply like my Instagram feed but either way it put a firework up my backside and made me realise its not all about figures, it's just if you fit in well with what the company's looking for.

I mean if that's not motivating for a rookie like me then what is?! I now have my own 20% off discount code ("danielleegrieve") for myself and anyone to use so if you're looking for a watch for yourself or struggling to think of a last minute Christmas present then go visit their website and get yourself some good discount! So thankful for the oppurtunity they gave me and I don't even know if I'd be writing this particular post now if it wasn't for them.

......

The other reason why I was absent from blogging for so long is because I was in Thailand! Some of you may already know this if you've read some of my other posts or follow me on Instagram (username "daniellegrieve").

I was only gone for two weeks but I had a lot of stuff to sort out before I went and with my lack of motivation on top of that, the last thing I was thinking about was writing anything.

If you follow me on Insta then you might have seen my story before I went saying I was going to vlog my time there. I had the expensive AF vlogging camera with matching tripod with me but it was IMPOSSIBLE. As I went alone, I found it hard to focus on filming when I had a massive backpack on that weighed the same as a small car and I honestly didn't want to keep burdening anyone I met over there to help me out with the vlogging because they're on holiday too and that's just unfair on them! I managed to film the first half of the holiday until I had really bad sunburn on my shoulders and back of my neck. I ended up getting so frustrated trying to carry a heavy backpack with blistering shoulders whilst trying to film decent footage at the same time. I couldn't put up with it much longer and the camera stayed in my suitcase for the rest of the trip. So apologies to anyone waiting on this vlog, I just didn't expect there to be so much travelling about with heavy luggage :( But nevertheless I had an AMAZINGGG time and got plenty of photos on my phone (also on my Insta) and now it's time to get back to reality.

......

So for all of those aspiring bloggers who find it difficult in getting started or for people like me who have already started but are getting themselves stressed because they feel like they're going about 1mph compared to other bloggers then please take my advice. I've been told it takes years to properly get somewhere with your blog so don't feel as if you have to be successful with loads of loyal readers within your first month, it takes a longggg ass time. Just stay true to who you are and what you want to accomplish out of your blog and stick with it. It's perfectly fine to look at other bloggers for inspo but don't just copy them because they're doing well for themselves, be you and only you and I'm sure everything else will follow!

Much Love, xoxo


bottom of page